E800 Data Cable - Digital Webtronics via eBay
message from Mike on 27 Jun 2005
http://stores.ebay.co.uk/digitalwebtronics/Payment-Postage-Returns-T-Cs.html

They also had a site here http://www.digitalwebtronics.co.uk/
which has been removed.

Anyway, it's an USB cable and Samsung say only serial cables will
work with their software. The USB one will not work and when
connected to the PC it shows the 'charging' mode on the phone.

However, a quick google shows MANY firms selling this same cable
being sold at many outlets, ie:
http://www.eliteelectronics.co.uk/Samsung_E800_USB_Data_Suite.html

If this is a scam, how can they keep getting away with it?

If it isn't, how do I get the bloody thing working? ;-|

Cheers,
Mike.
 
Mike replied to Mike on 28 Jun 2005
ahem.. hello?
 
Richard replied to Mike on 28 Jun 2005
you get what you pay for! sorry to say but these cheap cables
are more likely to damage your phone than anything else. the scam
works because people go for the cheap option then can't be
bothered to return them when they don't work and the seller
usually charges over the top for postage to discourage returns.

buy the genuine cable is the best option imho

regards,
dicky
 

Archived message: E800 Data Cable - Digital Webtronics via eBay (Mobiles - Phones, PAYG, Vodafone etc.)